Anyone who understands marketing know that photography plays an integral part in selling your product, service, knowledge, etc.

I grew up in a family of photographers. My father, who worked in a big ad agency (right out of Mad Men), took lots of photos of events, whereas my brother started as a teen and built a darkroom in our basement, then went off to Vietnam as an Army photographer.

So it was inevitable that I would come to love being behind the lens instead of in front of it. I started early too. I was using my brother’s old Nikon in high school, taking photos of everything: new adventures, tall ships, people, buildings, travels… you name it.

I remember my first Polaroid SX-70 Camera. I had tons of fun with that one! On of my favorite creative feats was to “alter” a polaroid as it was fixing.

foot bridge

When I finally got my first DSLR, I thought I was in heaven. Except for the fact that I hadn’t a clue as to how to use it! Fortunately, most DSLRs have one or two auto modes. And I use that 90% of the time.

That was until I came across this incredibly simple “How To” article on one of my favorite Photography newsletters – PetaPixel (http://petapixel.com/). This article answers all those nagging basic questions from “What is Exposure?” to “What is Aperture?” and offers great examples. For example, I learned that the higher the Depth of Field “F-Stop” setting, the more that will be in focus. So if you want to have only the thing closest to you in focus, you should use a lower F-Stop like F1.4. Then everything in the background will be blurred.

Sure, I experimented with my Sony A33. I tried to get that cool shot of a waterfall with the water in motion, but I didn’t know what the best settings were until now. (It’s a slow shutter speed, 1/2 second!).

So if you dabble in photography, or you’re a DIY Marketer like me, or you just want to learn how to use your DSLR to it’s greatest effect, then check out this guide:

A Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide to Aperture, Shutter Speed, and ISO

 

old-7-mile-bridge-florid-keys
More recent photo: Old Seven-Mile Bridge, Florida Keys
